Nissan Juke : Juke Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am New to gdi engines, but I have read that's it important to have your valves cleaned on a regular basis. Is this true?

·
Super Moderator
1,769 Posts
Yes. This is why we and Nissan recommend getting an induction cleaning service every once in a while. Whether you do it yourself with seafoam or any product that has PEA in it or you let the dealership do it, you will see an increase in responsiveness and performance. PEA is like seafoam version 2.0 or seafoam on steroids.

The science behind it is in a traditional engine, the gas and air are mixed in the intake plenum right before the intake valves enter the cylinder. This allows the detergents in the gas and the gas itself to contact the backside of the valves and wash them while entering the cylinder. In a GDI engine the gas is injected directly into the cylinder so the detergents and gas don’t come in contact with the valves as much. Some people will argue it doesn’t contact the valves at all but this all depends on injector to valve location relationship, injector spray pattern, and injector spray timing (our engine actually does a double shot, once at the beginning of the intake stroke and one near the end of the compression stroke just before the ignition/power stroke). Of course the exhaust valves will see similar carbon build up between both styles of engines, but that’s what the heat from ignition takes care of and with the help of PEA can loosen and burn that carbon buildup in the cat or expel it altogether.

·
Super Moderator
10,700 Posts
The Gen2 motor is better with the build up. Some car engine designs are better than others.

What it really comes down to me is:

What squirtbrnr said. Induction cleaning can be amazing. I felt the difference with my 2012 at 26K miles.

bg44k is a good in tank once a year product

Dont baby the car.

Change your oil often and use a good synthetic.