Nissan Juke : Juke Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
284 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

I didn't even realize this but I've been working towards this for at least 5 months and prototyping it for even longer. If you have an AWD Juke and run larger than a 27"~ ish tire, then you can't keep a full size spare in the usual spot. Then what do you do? Most normal people would just say "why don't you just get a hitch installed and then just do a hitch mounted tire carrier?" to which I say THAT'S ABSURD, why should a sacrifice any of my already ridiculously OP departure angle? Why should I compromise the overall length of my compact hatchback by making it way longer than it needs to be by installing a poorly optimized generic tire carrier?

So I decided to do the really hard thing and design my own tire carrier from scratch! ME, the guy who's never fabricated anything in his life and has maybe bent a tiny piece of sheet metal a handful of times before working on this project.

My life changed forever when I realized you could just buy metal online and have it shipped to an apartment-- so to my own detriment, and most likely to all my neighbor's dismay, I cut out all the pieces with an angle grinder and bent everything to shape with a sledgehammer all on my second story back porch, and made friends with someone who had a welder who I bothered on multiple occasions to help me work on this thing.

Many rounds of test-fitting later, and I was finally confident to get the mounts finalized so that I could finally plug the holes in the body and keep rainwater from pooling in the back of my car, which has been kind of annoying to look back and see every day after it rains. Did I mention I had to take the back seats out just to remove the interior quarter panels to access the bolt holes? I'VE BEEN DRIVING WITH NO INTERIOR FOR THE PAST 5 MONTHS.