Nissan Juke : Juke Forums banner

1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Folks! Newbie here but looking time lurker.
It's the wife's 2014 SV AWD with CVT. Got the car a couple of years ago. It had 23k miles. Now it has 51K.

Did oil change and CVT fluid change today. That drain was taking forever. I got a little over 5 quarts out. Put the same amount back in. Warmed it up and shifted the car between R, N and D. The level is somewhere in the between the two notches.
All seemed normal so i took it on a test drive. Drove it in NORMAL and SPORT modes. It shifted normally. All is well.
But....i used CVTz50 for the first time. The CVT temp was running high, the highest was 207°F. The drive was a little over 10 miles. Got home, kept it running to check level. Temp slowly went down. All is good but should i be worried about the temp? Thanks in advance for your feedback.

·
Premium Member
2,313 Posts
Welcome! I have done pretty extensive CVT monitoring through the app, under many conditions and states of modification.

207*F is roughly 97.2*C. The FSM states that top-range safe operating temp is around 90*C (194*F). You're not far from that.

However, and somewhat anecdotally, I could not keep my Juke under 90*C regularly almost ever. Even when it was cool. After my tune I saw temps of 110-115*C after mildly spirited driving. So, I turned to a cooler. I used a Derale stacked plate (10) and mounted it to the radiator. Cost about $100 for the part and I'd imagine an hour of shop labor to install if not DIY. After doing this I saw reliable temperature drops of up to 50*F (sorry for the conversion gore). After 45min or so in the heat, it will eventually soak and temps will creep up near 90*C again, but usually 79-84*C, so the creep only affects me maybe 2% of the time. If I did it again, I would've gone the larger 16 plate model but I don't regret keeping the one I have.

Link for DIY (applies to your year model):

https://youtu.be/RPDW9vmWDKo